Influence

img_7555

Recently on cybersphere in Nigeria, the picture above went viral. What further pushed its popularity was the reaction of some of the speakers and the public at large. It got me speculative.

How one person can affect other people. Because Olarenwaju Idris aka ‘Bobrisky’ was supposed to be on the panel, two of the speakers  sent withdrawal notification to the organizers. Once again, My think tank is almost sent to overdrive.Both of them (Bashir Ahmad & Subomi Plumptre) had their reputation, organization to protect. They didn’t want to be associated to a personality whose value system is different from theirs.

When you throw a stone into a body of water, you see the ripples that stone causes. I call it the ripple effect. And I grow introspective here. Am I doing something that may seem harmless to just me but eventually affects those within my circle? Am I saying something that when repeated to somebody else, a wrong meaning could be read?

I remember what the average Nigerian parents will always tell their child(ren) while growing up – “remember, where you are coming from”… “remember the child of who you are”…

As culled from google, “Influence is the capacity to have an effect on the character, development, or behavior of someone or something, or the effect itself.”

 

 

Parlez avec moi ...

